Art Deco

All about Art Deco

Art Deco is omnipresent at Miami Beach. It is found on every street corner, with its pastel colors, geometric curves mixed with straight lines, portholes, chrome rails and glass blocks. This is even what makes all the charm of the neighborhood, creating this atmosphere of postcard.

The origins of Art Deco

Born in the 1910s, Art Déco is the first artistic movement to have had an international scope in architecture and decoration. It takes its name from theInternational Exhibition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts which took place in Paris in 1925. 

Downtown Miami.

He imposed himself after the war in opposition to Art Nouveau and his spirit of freedom, imposing a return to symmetry and geographical forms, with however a certain creativity in the use of colors. It is found throughout Europe, North America, North Africa, but also in Asia, in cities such as Shanghai or Hong Kong.

However, each region has adapted and the differences between the French Art Deco that can be found in Paris and the one found in Miami are very different.

Miami Art Deco District

Art Deco in Miami

AT South Beach, it is the whole neighborhood that was built according to the precepts of the Art Deco movement, with its own adaptation of the movement where we always find these geometric shapes. After a fire that devastated the entire neighborhood in 1926, the entire neighborhood is rebuilding and becomes the playground of architects who let their imagination play. The fact that the whole neighborhood was built during the same period explains the architectural unity that we find there. At the time however, white was omnipresent and colors very rare, and since the 1960s, the inhabitants of this style of another era and demolition projects are increasing. However, a movement of protection is formed and leads to the Miami Preservation League, created in 1976, which launches large renovation projects. This is the beginning of the pastel colors so characteristic of the neighborhood and which are the signature of the "Tropical Art Deco".

The city rediscovers its heritage and makes its business card, popularized by the television series "Miami Vice".

The Miami Art Deco District, which gained the status of a US historic district in 1979, extends from 5th Street to Dade Boulevard and includes 960 historic listed buildings, making it the most important Art Deco District. in the world !

Miami Art Deco District

If you want to immerse yourself in Miami Beach's Art Deco atmosphere, there are guided tours as well as annual events, including Art Deco Festival which takes place in January of each year.

 

Discover opportunities topurchase in Miamias well as opportunities for location in Miami.

+ 1 (305) 361 2233
[email protected]

Barnes Miami 
1150 SW 22nd Street
33129, Miami, Florida.

Discover Miami differently with Barnes, Sobarnes.com

Follow us on Facebook www.facebook.com/barnesinternationalmiami

Follow us on Instagram @barnesmiami

 

Credit photo: Manuel Gamba, 2013 & #8211; via Flickr under CC BY-NC 2.0

RecordRecordRecordRecord

RecordRecord

Cultural life and education in Miami

The real estate itself is far from being the only criterion in the decision to invest abroad and that, the team of Barnes Miami knows it well! So to convince you to move to Miami, we explain why you will find everything you need in education and cultural life.

An intense cultural life

Far from what one can expect from a holiday destination like Miami, the city offers a cultural offer so rich and diversified that few other big cities can compete with it.

Museums and art galleries

Museums and art centers are legion in Miami: the Miami Art Museum, the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, the Bass Museum of Art, the Vizcaya Museum and Garden or the Wolfsonian Museum are than the biggest names in the region. To these are added a multitude of art galleries, present in many neighborhoods, including the Design District, Coconut Grove or Coral Gables. They present works from around the world but also many local artists.

Shopping and restoration

In a city where multiculturalism is the norm, it is no surprise to find an offer of restaurants and shops as varied and for all budgets, from the most demented to the tightest. The Dolphin Mall, Lincoln Road, Coco Walk or Miracle Mile are among the favorite addresses of all fashion models on the planet. Foodies are not left out since Miami is home to cuisine from around the world, from the typical American to European cuisine, through Asia, Africa and Latin America. All palaces of Miami have something to find their happiness!

Clubbing

You are surely aware of this point there. The nightlife of Miami is the dream of party-goers all over the world! The diversity of bars, clubs and night clubs promises to find the right atmosphere for your age and your musical tastes.

Nature

Perhaps the most surprising thing is that Miami has not lost its connection with nature. It remains ubiquitous and very accessible. The endless beaches, whether natural or landscaped, the countless parks of the city, some of which are world famous or the lagoons will allow afficionados of fresh air to enjoy the great outdoors while enjoying the benefits of great city. There are countless outdoor sports that can be practiced in Miami, on the water as on land.

Quality education

Another criterion more than important when one expatriates in family: the quality of the school system. And in Miami, you have something to be reassured because ...

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Art Déco

Tout savoir sur l’Art Déco

L’Art Déco est omniprésent à Miami Beach. On le trouve à tous les coins de rues, avec ses couleurs pastels, ses courbes géométriques mélangées aux lignes droites, ses hublots, ses rails chromés et ses blocs de verre. C’est même ce qui fait tout le charme du quartier, créant cette atmosphère de carte postale.

Les origines de l’Art Déco

Né au cours des années 1910, l’Art Déco est le premier mouvement artistique a avoir eu une portée internationale dans l’architecture et la décoration. Il tient son nom de l’Exposition internationale des Arts décoratifs et industriels modernes qui eu lieu à Paris en 1925. 

Downtown Miami.

Il s’impose après guerre en opposition à l’Art Nouveau et son esprit de liberté, en imposant un retour à la symétrie et aux formes géographiques, avec toutefois une certaine créativité dans l’utilisation des couleurs. On le retrouve dans toute l’Europe, en Amérique du Nord, en Afrique du Nord, mais également en Asie, dans des villes telles que Shanghai ou Hong Kong.

Cependant, chaque région l’a adapté et les différences entre l’Art Deco français qu’on peut retrouver à Paris et celui qu’on retrouve à Miami sont très différents.

Miami Art Deco District

L’Art Déco à Miami

À South Beach, c’est tout le quartier qui a été construit d’après les préceptes du mouvement Art Déco, avec sa propre adaptation du mouvement où l’on retrouve toujours ces formes géométriques. Après un incendie qui ravage tout le quartier en 1926, tout le quartier est à reconstruire et devient le terrain de jeux d’architectes qui laissent jouer leur imagination. Le fait que tout le quartier ai été construit à la même période explique l’unité architecturale qu’on y retrouve. À l’époque toutefois, le blanc était omniprésent et les couleurs très rares, et dès les années 1960, les habitants de ce style d’une autre époque et les projets de démolition se multiplient. Toutefois, un mouvement de protection se forme et aboutit à la Miami Preservation league, créée en 1976, qui lance de larges projets de rénovation. C’est le début des couleurs pastels si caractéristiques du quartier et qui font la signature du « Tropical Art Deco ».

La ville redécouvre son patrimoine et en fait sa carte de visite, popularisée par la série télévisée « Miami Vice ».

Le Miami Art Deco District, qui a gagné dès 1979 le statut de quartier historique des États-Unis, s’étend de la 5ème rue jusqu’au Dade Boulevard et comprend 960 bâtiments classés historiques, ce qui en fait le plus important quartier Art Deco au monde !

Miami Art Deco District

Si vous souhaitez vous plonger dans l’atmosphère Art Déco de Miami Beach, il existe des visites guidées mais également des évènements annuels, dont le Art Deco Festival qui a lieu en janvier de chaque année.

 

Découvrez des opportunités d’achat à Miami, ainsi que des opportunités de location à Miami.

+ 1 (305) 361 2233
[email protected]

Barnes Miami 
1150 SW 22nd Street
33129, Miami, Florida.

Découvrez Miami autrement avec Barnes, Sobarnes.com

Suivez-nous sur Facebook www.facebook.com/barnesinternationalmiami

Suivez-nous sur Instagram @barnesmiami

 

Credit photo : Manuel Gamba, 2013 – via Flickr under CC BY-NC 2.0

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer

EnregistrerEnregistrer

Vie culturelle et éducation à Miami

Le bien immobilier en lui-même est loin d’être le seul critère dans la décision d’investir à l’étranger et ça, l’équipe de Barnes Miami le sait bien ! Alors pour vous convaincre de vous installer à Miami, on vous explique pourquoi vous y trouverez tout ce dont vous aurez besoin en matières d’éducation et de vie culturelle.

Une vie culturelle intense

Loin de ce que l’on peut attendre d’une destination de vacances comme Miami, la ville propose une offre culturelle si riche et diversifiée que peu d’autres grandes villes peuvent la concurrencer.

Musées et galeries d’art

Les musées et centres artistiques sont légion à Miami : le Miami Art Museum (le musée d’art contemporain), l’Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, le Bass Museum of Art, le Vizcaya Museum and Garden ou le Wolfsonian Museum ne sont que les plus grands noms de la région. À ceux là s’ajoutent une multitude de galeries d’art, présentes dans de nombreux quartiers, notamment dans le Design District, à Coconut Grove ou à Coral Gables. Elles présentent des œuvres venues du monde entier mais également de nombreux artistes locaux.

Shopping et restauration

Dans une ville où la multi-culturalité fait loi, on ne s’étonne plus de trouver une offre de restaurants et de boutiques aussi variées et pour tous les budgets, des plus démentiels aux plus serrés. Le Dolphin Mall, Lincoln Road, Coco Walk ou Miracle Mile comptent parmi les adresses préférées de toutes les modeuses de la planète. Les foodies ne sont pas en reste puisqu’on trouve à Miami de la cuisine venue du monde entier, de l’américain typique aux cuisines européennes, en passant par l’Asie, l’Afrique et l’Amérique Latine. Tous les palais de Miami ont de quoi trouver leur bonheur !

Clubbing

Vous êtes surement au fait de ce point là. La vie nocturne de Miami fait rêver les fêtards du monde entier ! La diversité des bars, des clubs et des boites de nuit vous promet de trouver l’ambiance correspondant à votre âge et vos goûts musicaux.

Nature

Ce qui va peut-être le plus vous surprendre, c’est que Miami n’a pas perdu son lien avec la nature. Elle reste omniprésente et très accessible. Les plages sans fin, qu’elles soient naturelles ou aménagées, les innombrables parcs de la ville dont certain sont de renommée mondiale ou encore les lagons permettront aux afficionados d’air pur de profiter du grand air tout en bénéficiant des avantages d’une grande ville. On ne compte plus les sports d’extérieurs qu’il est possible de pratiquer à Miami, sur l’eau comme sur terre.

Une éducation de qualité

Autre critère plus qu’important lorsque l’on s’expatrie en famille : la qualité du système scolaire. Et à Miami, vous avez de quoi être rassurés, car …

fr_FRFrench