Fashion instinct in Miami with Laure HĂ©riard-Dubreuil

Co-founder in 2009 of the concept store The Webster in Miami, this fashion enthusiast has since opened several stores in the United States. Bright and cheerful, it symbolizes French elegance.

Where did you get the idea, crazy at the time, to open a concept-store devoted to fashion in Miami?

I knew the world of fashion well for having worked as merchandiser in prestigious houses such as Balenciaga or Saint Laurent. one day I discovered Miami, on the occasion of Art Basel. And I fell in love with this city: its beach, its sun, its Art Deco architecture. There was a special atmosphere. We felt that something was happening. Art Basel attracted collectors from around the world. But when I looked in Bal Harbor a little sophisticated outfit for the evening, I did not find anything. There were no brands I liked. I thought there was a lack and I started in this new life.

How did your debut go?

I went around the French designers to convince them that Miami was not this old and slightly rude city they had in mind, but a dynamic place, bright future. A bit like Art Basel for contemporary art, I tried to bring in the big names. After a first temporary shop, I opened The Webster in a South Beach Pink and Blue Art Building in 2009. The name came from an old 1930s hotel that was sitting there.

What is the concept you have developed?

I wanted to combine a classic fashion, symbol of chic Parisianism, with the Miami environment, sunny, latin, "fun". Break the usual codes of elegance by a warm and joyful twist; while respecting deeply the DNA of the houses that I knew well. And I created a very strong identity. I choose not only the assortment of brands that I present, but the precise models that correspond to me.
At the same time, I wanted to invent a different way of shopping. the idea is that we feel in our shops like at home. By privileging the reception, the notions of comfort, relaxation. The furniture is a mix of vintage and contemporary. In our concept-stores, as in our clothes, we must feel good.

For ten years, you have multiplied openings. Will you continue this expansion?
After South Beachwe opened in Bal Harbor to place ourselves in a very competitive environment. Then there was New York, Orange County California, Houston Texas; And by the end of 2019, we should be dying a new shop in Los Angeles.

Laure-the-webster
Laure HĂ©riard-Dubreuil

Do you stay true to fashion, but extend your activities to other areas of the art of living?

Yes. In New York, we have just partnered with David Mallet to launch a hair salon in Soho flagship store. And faced with the growing demand of some customers, we created a home department with the designer Stéphane Parmentier. He makes for us furniture, lamps, table services.

What are the criteria that guide your choices?

I am my instinct. Attentive to the evolution of fashion, design, I remain very faithful to the brands that I represent. I'm not so hooked on what lasts one season. I like to create real relationships, stable and lasting. Our customers enjoy being in a familiar, reassuring world. And they are sure to find with us parts that they want to wear for a long time.

Do you prefer black or color?

The colour ! In printed form. Pink is a little my favorite hue. There is also blue, chocolate, a little walleye. Everything that gives an impression of holidays, travel, ease and freedom.

You belong to a family famous in the world of cognac. Did your family history influence you?

A lot. I learned to be down to earth and the importance of rooting. The vine, spirits gain value over time. This is an essential notion in a world where we sometimes want things to go quickly.

What is being French in New York or Miami?

A blend of naturalness and sophistication. Sometimes, when I came back from the beach wet hair, not makeup and flat sandals, they looked at me strangely. I had to fancy myself a bit.

Your definition of elegance?

Feel good. If one simply dresses to be fashionable, one will not be elegant. What matters is the balance between what you wear and what you are.

By Bertrand de Saint Vincent. Camilo Rios pictures

Do not hesitate to us contact to know more !

French art of living

Thibault de Saint Vincent and Virginie Calmels speak about the identity of BARNES.

Thibault

"The symbol of the French way of life fascinates and makes the whole world dream. Our ambition has always been to participate in the radiation of this "french way of life", as say the Anglo-Saxons. Gastronomy, conversation, heritage or interior design, haute couture, perfume, luxury crafts; this elegance, this culture, this way of being that France embodies remains a model.

Nourished by this tradition, Maison BARNES For over twenty years, has defended these values of excellence and refinement in the field of luxury real estate. Present in some fifteen countries, listening to contemporary movements, it offers the expertise of a global and tailor-made service. Focusing on quality and longevity in all respects, BARNES embraces the passions of its high-end clientele: Art, vineyards, hunts, yachting, vintage cars. These sources of pleasure as well as yields have become natural extensions of the acquisition of a principal residence or resort.

With this in mind, we are very happy to welcome Virginie Calmels, new President of BARNES France and CEO of Barnes International, in our house. His rich experience, his natural leadership and his understanding of our challenges in a changing market will undeniably be assets to accompany us in our missions. "

Thibault de SAINT VINCENT, President BARNES International

virginia calmels

An entrepreneurial spirit

"I am very honored to join BARNES, whose success is impressive in twenty years, under the leadership of Heidi Barnes, its founder, Thibault de Saint Vincent, its president and all teams. It is explained by the ability of the house to stand out: to cultivate its entrepreneurial spirit, its creativity, to develop its network power, to embody a strong brand, which makes its values shine internationally today.

The internalisation and diversification of our activities will enable us to better meet the expectations of our customers, anxious to trust brands whose skills and know-how they share.

Welcoming today in our columns the co-founder of The Webster, Laure HĂ©riard-Dubreuil, it is this opening message that we want to convey. With her audacity and radiance, this young modern woman, queen of a light and smiling fashion, expresses with brilliance this singular art of living which BARNES wants to be the ambassador. "

Virginie CALMELS, CEO BARNES International

Do not hesitate to us contact for any further information.

en_USEnglish

L’instinct mode à Miami avec Laure Hériard-Dubreuil

Cofondatrice en 2009 du concept-store The Webster à Miami, cette passionnée de mode a depuis ouvert plusieurs boutiques aux Etats-Unis. Lumineuse et enjouée, elle symbolise l’élégance à la française.

D’où vous est venue l’idée, saugrenue à l’époque, d’ouvrir un concept-store consacré à la mode à Miami?

Je connaissais bien l’univers de la mode pour avoir travaillé comme merchandiser dans des maisons prestigieuses telles que Balenciaga ou Saint Laurent. un jour j’ai découvert Miami, à l’occasion d’Art Basel. Et je suis tombée amoureuse de cette ville: sa plage, son soleil, son architecture Art déco. Il y avait une atmosphère particulière. On sentait qu’il se passait quelque chose. Art Basel attirait des collectionneurs du monde entier. Mais lorsque j’ai cherché dans Bal Harbour une tenue un peu sophistiqué pour le soir, je n’ai rien trouvé. Il n’y avait aucune des marques que j’appréciais. Je me suis dit qu’il y avait un manque et je me suis lancée dans cette nouvelle vie.

Comment se sont passés vos débuts ?

J’ai fait le tour des designers français pour les convaincre que Miami n’était pas cette ville vieillotte et un peu grossière qu’ils avaient en tête, mais un lieu dynamique, à l’avenir radieux. Un peu comme Art Basel pour l’art contemporain, j’ai essayé d’y faire venir les grands noms. Apres une première boutique temporaire, j’ai ouvert The Webster dans un immeuble Art décor bleu et rose de South Beach, en 2009. Le nom m’est venu d’un ancien hôtel des années 1930 qui siégeait là.

Quel est le concept que vous avez développé ?

J’ai voulu associer une mode classique, symbole du parisianisme chic, à l’environnement de Miami, ensoleillé, latin, « fun ». Casser les codes habituels de l’élégance par un twist chaleureux et joyeux ; tout en respectant profondément l’ADN des maisons que je connaissais bien. Et j’ai créé une identité très forte. Je choisis non seulement l’assortiment des marques que je présente, mais les modèles précis qui me correspondent.
En même temps, j’ai voulu inventer une façon différente de faire du shopping. l’idée est que l’on se sente dans nos boutiques comme à la maison. En privilégiant l’accueil, les notions de confort, de détente. Le mobilier est un mélange de vintage et de contemporain. Dans nos concepts-stores, comme dans nos vêtements, on doit se sentir bien.

Depuis dix ans, vous avez multiplié les ouvertures. Allez-vous poursuivre cette expansion?
Après South Beach, nous avons ouvert à Bal Harbour pour nous placer dans un environnement très compétitif. Puis il y a eu New York, Orange County en Californie, Houston au Texas… Et fin 2019, nous devrions mourir une nouvelle boutique à Los Angeles.

Laure-the-webster
Laure Hériard-Dubreuil

Vous restez fidèle à la mode, mais vous étendez vos activités à d’autres domaines de l’art de vivre ?

Oui. À New York, nous venons de nous associer avec David Mallet pour lancer un salon de coiffure dans le flagship de Soho. Et face à la demande croissante de certains clients, nous avons crée un département « home » avec le designer Stéphane Parmentier. Il fabrique pour nous des meubles, des lampes, des services de table.

Quels sont les critères qui guident vos choix ?

Je suis mon instinct. Attentive à l’évolution de la mode, du design, je reste d’une très grande fidélité aux marques que je représente. Je ne suis pas tellement branchée sur ce qui ne dure qu’une saison. J’aime créer de vraies relations, stables et durables. Nos clients apprécient de se retrouver dans un univers familier, rassurant. Et ils sont sûrs de trouver chez nous des pièces qu’ils auront envie de porter pendant très longtemps.

Vous préférez le noir ou la couleur ?

La couleur ! En imprimés. Le rose est un peu ma teinte fétiche. Il y a aussi le bleu, le chocolat, un peu de doré. Tout ce qui donne une impression de vacances, de voyage, d’aisance et de liberté.

Vous appartenez à une famille célèbre dans le monde du cognac. Votre histoire familiale vous a-t-elle influencée ?

Beaucoup. J’ai appris à avoir les pieds sur terre et l’importance de l’enracinement. La vigne, les spiritueux prennent de la valeur avec le temps. C’est une notion essentielle dans un monde où l’on a parfois envie que les choses aillent vite.

Qu’est-ce qu’être une Française à New York ou à Miami ?

Un mélange de naturel et de sophistication. Parfois, quand je revenais de la plage le cheveu mouillé, pas maquillée et en sandales plates, on me regardait bizarrement. J’ai dû me sophistiquer un peu.

Votre définition de l’élégance ?

Se sentir bien. Si l’on s’habille simplement pour être à la mode, on ne sera pas élégant. Ce qui importe, c’est l’équilibre entre ce que l’on porte et ce que l’on est.

Par Bertrand de Saint Vincent. Photo Camilo Rios

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour en savoir plus !

L’art de vivre à la française

Thibault de Saint Vincent et Virginie Calmels s’expriment sur l’identité de BARNES.

thibault

« Le symbole de l’art de vivre à la française fascine et fait rêver le monde entier. Notre ambition a d’ailleurs toujours été de participer au rayonnement de ce « french way of life », comme disent les Anglo-Saxons. Gastronomie, conversation, patrimoine ou décoration d’intérieur, haute couture, parfum, artisanat de luxe… cette élégance, cette culture, cette manière d’être que la France incarne reste un modèle.

Nourrie de cette tradition, la Maison BARNES défend, depuis plus de vingt ans, ces valeurs d’excellence et de raffinement dans le domaine de l’immobilier de prestige. Présente dans une quinzaine de pays, à l’écoute des mouvements contemporains, elle offre l’expertise d’un service global et sur-mesure. Privilégiant en tous points la qualité et la longévité, BARNES épouse les passions de sa clientèle haut de gamme : Art, vignobles, chasses, yachting, automobiles de collection. Ces sources de plaisirs autant que de rendements sont devenues les prolongements naturels de l’acquisition d’une résidence principale ou d’un lieu de villégiature.

Dans cet optique, nous sommes très heureux d’accueillir Virginie Calmels, nouvelle Présidente de BARNES France et CEO de Barnes International, au sein de notre maison. Son expérience très riche, son leadership naturel ainsi que sa compréhension de nos enjeux sur un marché en mutation seront indéniablement des atouts pour nous accompagner dans nos missions. »

Thibault de SAINT VINCENT, Président BARNES International

virginie-calmels

Un esprit d’entreprise

« Je suis très honorée de rejoindre BARNES, dont la réussite est impressionnante en vingt ans, sous l’impulsion d’Heidi Barnes, sa fondatrice, de Thibault de Saint Vincent, son président et de l’ensemble des équipes. Elle s’explique par la capacité de la maison à se singulariser : cultiver son esprit d’entreprise, sa créativité, développer sa puissance de réseau, incarner une marque forte, qui fait rayonner aujourd’hui ses valeurs à l’international.

L’internalisation et la diversification de nos activités vont nous permettre de toujours mieux répondre aux attentes de nos clients, soucieux de faire confiance à des marques dont ils partagent le savoir-faire et le savoir-être.

En accueillant aujourd’hui dans nos colonnes la cofondatrice de The Webster, Laure Hériard-Dubreuil, c’est ce message d’ouverture que nous voulons transmettre. Par son audace et son rayonnement, cette jeune femme moderne, reine d’une mode légère et souriante, exprime avec éclat cet art de vivre singulier dont BARNES se veut être l’ambassadeur. »

Virginie CALMELS, CEO BARNES International

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour tout complément d’information.

fr_FRFrench